Solmer Law Corporation is here to uphold the law. 

#Coronavirus Job Loss and Sick Pay

On Behalf of | Mar 13, 2020 | Firm News |

What do you do if there is job loss due to suspected/perceived/actual #coronavirus #COVID-19? What if you are fired because you stayed home to help a family member? You may have a disability discrimination and wrongful termination case. Call us to find out: 714.794.8558.
What if you stay home sick?
Paid sick leave in California varies depending on the city where you work and your employer’s policies regarding PTO (if any). For example, if you work in the City of Los Angeles, you should receive at least 48 hours of sick leave per year provided at the start of each year of employment/calendar year/12-month period OR one (1) hour of paid sick leave for every thirty (30) hours worked.
If you don’t work in the City of Los Angeles, the requirement may be lower like the California state minimum which is 24 hours (or three days) of paid leave or paid time off per year.
Separate from CA paid sick leave or your employer’s policies, you may be entitled to EDD help:
You can also urge Congress to pass legislation to expand sick leave.

What can you use sick leave for? You can take paid sick leave for yourself or a family member, for preventive care or diagnosis, care or treatment of an existing health condition, or for specified purposes if you are a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking.

  • Family members include the employee’s parent, child, spouse, registered domestic partner, grandparent, grandchild, and sibling.
  • Preventive care would include annual physicals or flu shots.

The employee may decide how much paid sick leave he or she wants to use (for example, whether you want to take an entire day, or only part of a day). Your employer can require you to take a minimum of at least two hours of paid sick leave at a time, but otherwise the determination of how much time is needed is left to the employee.